Big Clash for Cell C Sharks XV

The Cell C Sharks XV host Western Province at Jonsson KINGS PARK KP1 on Friday afternoon in a third round SuperSport Challenge clash hoping to put in the kind of performance the team is aiming for.

Cell C Sharks XV head coach Sean Everitt has had his squad decimated by SA Under 20 call-ups and unfortunate injuries but will nevertheless look for a top performance from his side against perennial achievers.

“Western Province’s SuperSport Challenge side has always been good and they’ve won the competition twice over the last 10 years,” he explains of the opposition. “They have great depth with their three universities and contracted players so they have the numbers to choose from.

“But they’re going to be good competition for us and we’re looking forward to the challenge.”

The Sharks XV team is made up of Under 19 and club players who have been given an opportunity, while the side has been bolstered by Vodacom Super Rugby players who are getting game time. These include Lwazi Mvovo and Rhyno Smith.

Two concussions and a serious knee injury against Free State in Week One put paid to the team’s chances after a great start, while Zimbabwe managed to fight strongly before going down to the Cell C Sharks XV last week.

“Zimbabwe had everything to play for but our performance wasn’t what we were looking for and performance is what we judge ourselves by,” Everitt explains. “Although we got a bit sloppy after starting well, we did get the five points in an away game soo we’re happy with the result but we know we need to perform better on Friday.

“We need to put in an 80 minute performance against Western Province.”

The Cell C Sharks XV

1. James Scott
2. Cullen Collopy
3. Roger Zondi
4. Lunga Ncube
5. Andrew Evans
6. Adam Mountfort
7. Wian Vosloo
8. Kwanda Dimaza
9. Zee Makabela
10. Murray Koster
11. Leolin Zas
12. Jeremy Ward (Captain)
13. DJ Falconer
14. Lwazi Mvovo
15. Rhyno Smith


16. Connor Botha
17. Tian de Jager
18. Jeandre Labuschagne
19. Vian Fourie
20. Damian Stevens
21. Inny Radebe
22. Sicelo Tole