Big Task for Juniors

The second-round match between the Cell C Sharks Under 21’s and the Blue Bulls takes place at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Friday afternoon with plenty riding on the outcome of this match.

A disappointing return leg loss to Western Province (who they beat in the first round) last week has added a measure of pressure for a Cell C Sharks side looking to keep out the Golden Lions who trail in fifth spot on the SA Rugby Under 21 Championship table, one log point behind.

There is an almighty tussle between the front-runners, with only points-differential separating the Blue Bulls and Free State, both on 32 log points and six wins apiece.

Just five points separated the Blue Bulls and Cell C Sharks Under 21s in their first round match at Loftus and certainly home ground advantage is something the Cell C Sharks Under 21s will look to use in their quest to upset the log leaders.

Head coach Mike Vowles has made a number of injury enforced changes for this match, including naming a completely new front row. James Scott and Sean Barnes swap jerseys while Donovan Grant comes in for Dylan Richardson at hooker and Cleopas Kuniana is in for Francois Klopper at tighthead.

JJ van der Mescht replaces Dylan Weideman at lock while Jacques Ackerman is in for captain and eighthman Adam Mountford.

Amongst the backs, Murray Koster takes over the flyhalf duties from an injured Boeta Chamberlain with Le Roux Malan slotting in at outside centre in place of Koster, partnering Donald Falconer who comes in for Muller du Plessis at outside centre.

The final change sees Asanda Kunene replacing Caleb Dingaan on the wing.

Friday’s match on KP2 kicks off at 2pm.


Cell C Sharks Under 21’s

  1. James Scott
  2. Donovan Grant
  3. Cleopas Kuniana
  4. JJ van der Mescht
  5. Emile van Heerden
  6. Vian Fourie
  7. Jeandre Labuschagne (c)
  8. Jacques Ackerman
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Murray Koster
  11. Asanda Kunene
  12. Le Roux Malan
  13. Donald Falconer
  14. Henk Cilliers
  15. Thaakir Abrahams


  1. Mark Venter
  2. Sean Barnes
  3. Tiaan de Jager
  4. Dylan Weideman
  5. Lunga Ncube
  6. Ntsika Fisanti
  7. Xavier Swartbooi
  8. Rynhardt Jonker