Bonus for Under 21s

The Cell C Sharks Under 21 team that will be hosting the Lions in a round two SA Under 21 Championship clash at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Saturday has been bolstered by returning SA Under 20 players.

Following the conclusion of the World Rugby Under 20 Championship over the weekend when the SA Under 20 side secured a bronze medal after defeating the hosts Argentina 41-16 in the third and fourth-placed play-offs, those players who represented their country were released back to their franchises and those available have been drafted straight back into action.


At hooker, Fez Mbatha comes in for Cullen van der Merwe while JJ van der Mescht replaces Marcell Barnard at lock.


Phepsi Buthelezi will wear the Number 8 jersey, taking over the captaincy from Adam Mountfort after leading the SA Under 20s while Sanele Nohamba comes in for Xavier Swartbooi at scrumhalf.


Boeta Chamberlain shifts to flyhalf with last week’s number 10 Murray Koster moving to inside centre where he will partner Muller du Plessis in the midfield while the final returning SA player to feature in the starting XV, Thaakir Abrahams, slots in at fullback.


Celimphilo Gumede (loose forward) and Caleb Dingaan (wing) will add international experience to the reserve bench for Saturday’s match that kicks off at 1pm, as will scrumhalf Jaden Hendrickse who has been nominated as Breakthrough Player of the Tournament for the World Rugby U20 Championship.


Cell C Sharks U/ 21’s

  1. James Scott
  2. Fez Mbatha
  3. Francois Klopper
  4. JJ van der Mescht
  5. Jeandre Labushagne
  6. Adam Mountfort
  7. Evan Roos
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi (C)
  9. Sanele Nohamba
  10. Boeta Chamberlain
  11. Henk Cilliers
  12. Murray Koster
  13. Muller du Plessis
  14. Sicelo Tole
  15. Thaakir Abrahams



  1. Cullen van der Merwe
  2. Sean Barnes
  3. Cleopas Kundiana
  4. Marcell Barnard
  5. Celimphilo Gumede
  6. Jaden Hendrickse
  7. Le Roux Malan
  8. Caleb Dingaan