Building for 2017 and Beyond

The Cell C Sharks will boast a number of new faces to go with the tried and tested names for next year’s Vodacom Super Rugby competition,  with a French international adding to the excitement.

Pre-season training has now commenced giving head coach, Robert du Preez, the opportunity to announce signings and re-signings for the new season.

Commenting on the new signings, du Preez said:  “The new players who have joined us will ensure that we have much needed depth in certain positions.  We welcome them to our family and we look forward to their positive influence going forward.

The most high-profile name on the list of new signings is that of French international Clement Poitrenaud, who joins us on a one-year deal.

Other newcomers include Enoch Mnyaka (Tighthead Prop – EP Kings – 2 years), Stormers Loose-Forward Jacques Vermeulen (3 years), Southern Kings centre Jeremy Ward (2 years), Namibia/Leopards centre Johan Deysel (2 years) and Kobus van Wyk, Stormers Centre (3 years).

Du Preez added:  “We have a young and exciting team who are building for the future.  It’s a key focus area for us to retain the young talent in our squad, which will create continuity and stability with our vision going forward.

“With this in mind, I am delighted to announce the names of the following players, who have shown their commitment to the team and our jersey by signing contract extensions:

Odwa Ndungane and Rowan Gouws have extended their contracts with the Cell C Sharks for another year;

Andre Esterhuizen, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Curwin Bosch, Franco Marais, Jean Droste,  John-Hubert Meyer, Marius Louw, Neil Maritz, Rhyno Smith and Stephan Lewies and Tristan Blewett (all two years),

Hyron Andrews, Mzamo Majola, Sibusiso Nkosi and Thomas du Toit (all three years).

The Sharks also wish to advise that Wandile Mjekevu and Neil Maritz will join the Southern Kings on loan for Super Rugby 2017.