Monday, 15th May 2017: Cell C Sharks Head Coach Robert du Preez has released the names of the 25 players who departed for Singapore today, ahead of the Cell C Sharks match against the Sunwolves on Saturday, 20th May.

Coenie Oosthuizen has been rested this week in line with the Springbok rest protocol. Three other players were not considered for tour selection due to picking up injuries in the match against the Kings. The three players are:

Jeremy Ward (broken nose) – He will undergo surgery and is expected to be out for approximately six weeks.
Pat Lambie (concussion symptoms) – Due to his history, The Sharks medical team are being cautious and therefore he has not travelled with the team.
Rhyno Smith (Pectoral Muscle Tear) – He is seeing a specialist today to determine treatment plan.

The touring squad are:

Chiliboy Ralepelle Benhard Janse van Rensburg
Daniel du Preez Cobus Reinach
Etienne Oosthuizen Garth April
Franco Marais Johan Deysel
Jacques Vermeulen Kobus van Wyk
Jean-Luc du Preez Lukhanyo Am
John-Hubert Meyer Lwazi Mvovo
Juan Schoeman Michael Claassens
Lourens Adriaanse S’bura Sithole
Philip van der Walt Sbu Nkosi
Ruan Botha
Stephan Lewies
Tendai Mtawarira
Tera Mtembu
Thomas du Toit


Du Preez was justifiably angry after the Kings match and said: “I am very disappointed with the result and there are no excuses to be made. We were beaten by a team who played with more passion.

“We need to take accountability this week and make the step up. There is a lot to play for in this competition and we are playing for a quarter-final spot.”