Continuity for Bulls Clash

Cell C Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has had no hesitation in naming an unchanged starting XV for his side’s Vodacom Super Rugby clash with the Vodacom Bulls at JONSSON KINGS PARK this Saturday at 17h15.

Following minimal changes in the last two weeks of a sublime showing in New Zealand, the coach felt that those who had done such proud duty against the Blues then Hurricanes deserved a shot at the Vodacom Bulls.

He has however made three rotational changes on the bench with Akker van der Merwe replacing Franco Marais while Tyler Paul will now cover lock ahead of Hyron Andrews and Daniel du Preez returns to the matchday 22 from injury and will potentially form a trio of brothers on-field should he join fellow loose forward Jean-Luc and flyhalf Robert during the match.

Beast Mtawarira believes that the Vodacom Bulls match offers the opportunity to continue the form they showed in the last two weeks. “Those performances in New Zealand showed what this team is all about,” he said. “We can take a lot out of the way we played in those games.”

The Vodacom Bulls have already enjoyed their two mandatory byes and with a game in hand over the second placed Cell C Sharks (in the South African Conference) and two over the conference leading Lions, will come to Durban full of purpose in their own quest to move up the table.

However, they will be up against a fired-up Cell C Sharks side high on confidence and determined to make their efforts count after the last gasp loss to the Hurricanes last weekend when we dominated but could not get the win.

“The tour didn’t all go our way as far as results are concerned, but it ended up us showing what we’re all about. We showed how well we can play against the Blues and Hurricanes, that we can be contenders. We are getting cohesion in our game, we’ve changed our mindset – we want to attack, not defend.

“We want to put in massive performances in front of our home supporters,” said Beast emphatically.

“This match is going to be a cracker, they are highly motivated, but so are we. It’s going to be two dynamic attacks up against each other and that means fireworks.”

The Cell C Sharks Replacements
1. Tendai Mtawarira 16. Akker van der Merwe
2. Chiliboy Ralepelle
17. Juan Schoeman
3. Thomas du Toit 18. John-Hubert Meyer
4. Ruan Botha (Captain) 19. Tyler Paul
5. Stephan Lewies 20. Daniel du Preez
6. Philip van der Walt
21. Cameron Wright
7. Jean-Luc du Preez 22. Marius Louw
8. Tera Mtembu 23. Kobus van Wyk
9. Louis Schreuder
10. Robert du Preez
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Andre Esterhuizen
13. Lukhanyo Am
14. Sbu Nkosi
15. Curwin Bosch