Currie Cup Captain and Squad Announcement

Monday, 1st August 2016:  With the Cell C Sharks Premier Division Currie Cup campaign scheduled to kick-off this Friday against the Pumas in Nelspruit, Cell C Sharks Head Coach Robert du Preez, has announced his Currie Cup squad as well as the appointment of loose-forward Keegan Daniel, as captain for the 2016 Currie Cup campaign.

Daniel, is a stalwart of Sharks rugby and his leadership record is admirable.  He has previously captained the Cell C Sharks on 58 occasions, which included both Super Rugby and Currie Cup finals, as well as lifting the coveted Currie Cup trophy in 2013.

He initially returned for this year’s Super Rugby campaign, but has committed his immediate future to the team, by signing a new three-year contract.

Commenting on his decision, du Preez said:  “Keegan is someone who leads by example and sets the pace not only on the playing field, but at training and also off the field.  We have a young and enthusiastic squad and his experience and strong leadership will certainly provide the necessary mentorship, guidance and calming influence within our team environment.”

The 2016 Cell C Sharks Currie Cup Squad:

Chiliboy Ralepelle Andre Esterhuizen
Dale Chadwick Benhard Janse van Rensburg
Daniel du Preez Curwin Bosch
Etienne Oosthuizen Garth April
Franco Marais Hanco Venter
Francois Kleinhans Heimar Williams
Hyron Andrews Inny Radebe
JC Astle Lukhanyo Am
Jean Deysel Marius Louw
Jean Droste Michael Claassens
Jean-Luc du Preez Morne Joubert
Johan du Toit Neil Maritz
John-Hubert Meyer Odwa Ndungane
Juan Schoeman S’bura Sithole
Keegan Daniel (c) Sibusiso Nkosi
Khaya Majola Stefan Ungerer
Lourens Adriaanse Wandile Mjekevu
Philip van der Walt
Ruan Botha
Stephan Coetzee
Stephan Lewies
Tera Mtembu
Thomas du Toit