Currie Cup Final Time

The Cell C Sharks side to take on DHL Western Province in Saturday’s Currie Cup Final at Growthpoint KINGS PARK remains relatively unchanged as head coach Robert du Preez rewards last week’s victorious team.

The forwards remain unchanged from last week’s semi-final and there is just one enforced change amongst the backline, Sbu Nkosi is out with a dislocated elbow with Odwa Ndungane taking his place on the wing and Rhyno Smith coming onto the bench.

Continuity is key and du Preez has not tinkered with the side, apart from the forced change out wide.

Loose-forward Jean-Luc du Preez admits that there is an increase in the intensity of the energy in the camp, but maintaining focus and continuity is the primary aim for the side, aiming to avoid the hype and treat this week’s preparations as business as usual.

“There is a bit of tension, but we are sticking to what we’ve done to get us to this point, there won’t be any major changes,” he explains.

Although he’s played in some big games in his career (one being a final in 2014 for the baby Boks) and recently represented his country, this is his first taste of a Currie Cup final which excites him immensely.

“It’s a massive game, I haven’t played a game of this calibre before and I’m really looking forward to it.”

Aside from the obvious and instant reward of winning the Currie Cup competition, he admits that the long term benefits that come with success cannot be underestimated.

“This is a very young group and we’re also preparing for next year’s Super Rugby season and beyond, and as long as this group stays together, that will bode well for the future.”

The Cell C Sharks
1 Thomas du Toit 16 Akker van der Merwe
2 Franco Marais 17 Juan Schoeman
3 Ross Geldenhuys 18 John-Hubert Meyer
4 Tyler Paul 19 Jean Droste
5 Ruan Botha (Captain) 20 Jacques Vermeulen
6 Keegan Daniel 21 Michael Claassens
7 Jean-Luc du Preez 22 Tristan Blewett
8 Daniel du Preez 23 Rhyno Smith
9 Louis Schreuder
10 Curwin Bosch
11 Odwa Ndungane
12 Marius Louw
13 Lukhanyo Am
14 Kobus van Wyk
15 Garth April