Looking to Refocus

Springboks Coenie Oosthuizen and Tendai Mtawarira return to the starting line-up to play the Reds on Friday afternoon at JONSSON KINGS PARK.

It’s been a tough few days of introspection for the team following a disappointing showing against the Jaguares and the team has the opportunity to right the wrongs on Friday.

The Springbok pair replace Juan Schoeman and Thomas du Toit, who move to the bench.  The other change in the pack sees Jacques Vermeulen back from a well-earned break and he is in at flank for Luke Stringer.

There are changes in the backline where Kobus van Wyk replaces Lukhanyo Am and forms a new midfield partnership with Andre Esterhuizen while Lwazi Mvovo moves across to the wing position vacated by Makazole Mapimpi with Sbu Nkosi returning to the side in the final change to the starting line-up.  Both Am and Mapimpi have been rested for this match.

Cell C Sharks assistant coach Braam van Straaten has been honest in his appraisal of last week’s game, admitting that, “This is not how we want to play, not what we want to show our fans who come here to watch us perform to the best of our abilities and that’s not how we can reward them for their support.

“We didn’t pitch, mentally we weren’t there and got beaten up at every opportunity,” he added. “We didn’t face up and that’s the disappointing part of it.”

“The senior players have taken ownership and come Friday, I think it will be a different story.”

There is a short turnaround week for the team because of the Friday game and van Straaten admitted that it was important to get over the disappointment of the Jaguares game and focus on the Reds.

“We’re going to have to be really, really on top of our game. They’re a good side, coached by an ex-All Black and they’re a tough side to break down. We will be up for the challenge.”


The Cell C Sharks

  1. Beast Mtawarira
  2. Kerron van Vuuren
  3. Coenie Oosthuizen
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. Philip van der Walt
  7. Jacques Vermeulen
  8. Daniel du Preez
  9. Louis Schreuder (c)
  10. Robert du Preez
  11. Lwazi Mvovo
  12. Andre Esterhuizen
  13. Kobus van Wyk
  14. Sbu Nkosi
  15. Curwin Bosch


  1. Fez Mbatha
  2. Juan Schoeman
  3. Thomas du Toit
  4. Tyler Paul
  5. Jean-Luc du Preez
  6. Cameron Wright
  7. Marius Louw
  8. Aphelele Fassi