Return Leg Action

The Cell C Sharks Under 21’s travel to DHL Newlands to take on the Western Province Under 21s in Friday afternoon’s SA Rugby Under 21 Championship second round, away leg clash.

With three rounds of the pool stages remaining before the knock-out rounds, the Cell C Sharks Under 21s will be under no illusions as to the importance of the final three weeks in their campaign to secure a top four finish.

Last week’s loss to the Golden Lions didn’t affect the Cell C Sharks Under 21s’ position on the log and they remain in fourth spot, but it has given the Lions a sniff of a top four finish after they had fallen off the pace.

A 36-22 first round victory over the Cape Town side proved the team’s ability and they will hope to produce a similarly commanding performance on Friday (12.30pm kick-off) against the side in third spot on the log, three points ahead of the Cell C Sharks in fourth with 18.

The Blue Bulls continue to lead the table, although a loss to Free State last week has ensured that the team from Bloemfontein mount a late challenge and are now tie with the Bulls on 27 points.

In changes to last week’s side, head coach Mike Vowles has selected Dylan Richardson at hooker, his return to action sees him replacing Cullen van der Merwe while Adam Mountford shifts from flank to eighthman with Vian Fourie wearing the number six jersey.

Amongst the backs, Thaakir Abrahams returns at fullback with Muller du Plessis moving to centre and Henk Cilliers playing on the wing in place of Sicelo Thole.


Cell C Sharks Under 21’s

  1. Sean Barnes
  2. Dylan Richardson
  3. Francois Klopper
  4. Dylan Weideman
  5. Emile van Heerden
  6. Vian Fourie
  7. Jeandre Labuschagne
  8. Adam Mountford (c)
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Henry Chamberlain
  11. Caleb Dingaan
  12. Murray Koster
  13. Muller du Plessis
  14. Henk Cilliers
  15. Thaakir Abrahams


  1. Donovan Grant
  2. Jame Scott
  3. Tiaan de Jager
  4. JJ van der Mescht
  5. Lunga Ncube
  6. Xavier Swartbooi
  7. Donald Falconer
  8. Asande Kunene