Strong Sharks Team

Cell C Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has selected his strongest available squad to take on the Vodacom Bulls in Saturday’s warm-up match at Ashton College in Ballito, in preparation for the imminent Vodacom Super Rugby competition.

There were no injury concerns aside from a few minor niggles out of the Super Hero Sunday clash with the Emirates Lions and du Preez admitted that, “We’re all good to go for Saturday.”

Explaining his selection, the coach pointed out that, “The plan is to potentially start the same team against the Bulls that we would pick to play in our opening Vodacom Super Rugby game. This match is very much a dress rehearsal for the Sunwolves game next Saturday.

“We have two full teams and when the game is finished on Saturday, everyone involved in the pre-season would have played, rewarding each one of them for the hard work they’ve put into this pre-season.”

The coaches have the good fortune of having an almost full squad of players at their disposal, with just a handful of players unavailable due to injury, but who are making steady progress and will return to action not too long from now.

Beast Mtawarira, Akker van der Merwe and Coenie Oosthuizen will start in the front row with Hyron Andrews and Ruan Botha partnering at lock. Jacques Vermeulen, Tyler Paul and Dan du Preez complete the back-row trio.

Captain Louis Schreuder and Curwin Bosch start as the half-back pairing with Marius Louw and Lukhanyo Am partnering in the centrefield. A young and exciting back three complete the team, du Preez going with with Makazole Mapimpi, Sbu Nkosi and Aphelele Fassi.

There is plenty of exciting young as well as experienced talent amongst the reserves to suggest that this is a very strong side. Kickoff for this final warm-up match is 14h00

Cell C Sharks

  1. Beast Mtawarira
  2. Akker van der Merwe
  3. Coenie Oosthuizen
  4. Hyron Andrews
  5. Ruan Botha
  6. Jacques Vermeulen
  7. Tyler Paul
  8. Daniel du Preez
  9. Louis Schreuder
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Lukhanyo Am
  14. Sbu Nkosi
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Juan Schoeman
  2. Fezo Mbatha
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Gideon Koegelenberg
  6. Wian Vosloo
  7. Luke Stringer
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Cameron Wright
  10. Robert du Preez
  11. Lwazi Mvovo
  12. Andre Esterhuizen
  13. Jeremy Ward
  14. Leolin Zas
  15. Courtney Winnaar
  16. Kerron van Vuuren
  17. Grant Williams
  18. Rhyno Smith