Southern Kings


The Southern Kings are a rugby union team based in Port Elizabeth, South Africa that compete in the annual Super Rugby competition. The creation of the team was formally announced at the opening of the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on 16 June 2009, in time to coincide with the 2009 British and Irish Lions tour to South Africa.

The Kings’ catchment area is made up of the Eastern Cape and parts of the Western Cape. They draw players from 3 provincial unions, namely the Eastern Province Kings, based in Port Elizabeth (representing the southern half of the Eastern Cape), the Border Bulldogs, based in East London (representing the northern half of the Eastern Cape) and the SWD Eagles, based in George (representing the South Western Districts).