At today’s Extraordinary General meeting of the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union, Schalk Liebenberg was elected as the new President of the KZNRU.

Liebenberg, previously Deputy President, becomes the 25 President of the union and succeeds Francois Louis, who has held the position for two years.

“It has been my honour to serve the KZNRU and during my tenure I have strived to strengthen the footprint of rugby in KZN.  I take this opportunity to wish my successor everything of the best as he continues to lead our rugby vision in the province”, said Francois Louis.

The Sharks CEO, Gary Teichmann thanked Louis for his dedication and hardwork over the last two years and welcomed Liebenberg to the role.

“Francois has been a loyal servant of rugby in this province and we thank him for all his efforts and his positive contribution.  I welcome Schalk to the role and look forward to working closely with him”, he said.

“Our new President added: “It’s my absolute honour to have been elected and I can’t wait to hit the ground running.  There is a lot to be done and together we can achieve so much.”

The KZNRU Executive Committee is as follows:

President:Schalk Liebenberg

Deputy President: Lulu Bodla

Senior Vice President: Noël Ingle

Junior Vice President: Juno Fourie

Additional Members:    Paddy Doyle

Sandile Ngwenya

Henning Swanepoel

Randall Wagner