Training Squad Announcement

Thursday, 19th November 2015: The Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold, has released the names of his provisional pre-season training squad.

This current squad will be bolstered by the return of our Japanese based players, namely Marcell Coetzee, Willie le Roux, JP Pietersen, Jacques Potgieter and Renaldo Bothma, who will join the squad in January 2016.



Aaron Schramm Andre Esterhuizen
Barend Potgieter Cobus Reinach
Christiaan de Bruin Garth April
Coenie Oosthuizen Heimar Williams
Dale Chadwick Innocent Radebe
David McDuling Joe Pietersen
Etienne Oosthuizen Johan Deysel
Franco Marais Lukhanyo Am
Francois Kleinhans Lwazi Mvovo
Gerhard Engelbrecht Marius Louw
Hyron Andrews Michael Claassens
Jean Deysel Odwa Ndungane
Kyle Cooper Patrick Lambie
Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira Paul Jordaan
Lubabalo Mtyanda Sibusiso Nkosi
Monde Hadebe S’bura Sithole
Mzamo Majola Stefan Ungerer
Philip van der Walt Wandile Mjekevu
Ruan Botha
Sias Koen
Thomas du Toit

Players currently undergoing rehab, due to injury:

  • Beast Mtawarira
  • Conrad Hoffmann
  • Daniel du Preez
  • Jean-Luc du Preez
  • Juan Schoeman
  • Khaya Majola
  • Lourens Adriaanse
  • Stephan Lewies
  • Tera Mtembu

A new name on the above list is that of Stormers lock, Ruan Botha who joins us on a two-year deal.

Commenting on his signing Gary Gold added: “Ruan is a young player with a bright future ahead of him. He was part of the SA U/20 squad that won the IRB Junior Championship in 2012 and we look forward to his progress in the black and white jersey.”

The Sharks also wish to advise that the following players have been released from their contracts to pursue other options:

  • Jaco van Tonder
  • JC Astle
  • Lionel Cronje
  • Marco Wentzel
  • Waylon Murray
  • Wiehan Hay