Club Rugby Column

Then there were four. The draw for the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup semi finals was held in the Jock Leyden Media Centre at Jonsson Kings Park on Monday evening and sees the last four sides left in the competition all set and squaring up for action at the home of Bidvest Insurance Crusaders in Ranleigh Crescent Durban North on Friday evening,

FNB UKZN Pietermaritzburg who finished bottom of the log in the Fidelity ADT Premier Division league have done the impossible and deserve huge credit for ending up in the top four of the Murray Cup knockout competition. The sttudents have drawn SA Home Loans Durban Collegians in the first of the semi-finals.

The Whites of Maritzburg Varsity have only won the prestigious competition once and that was way back in 1930 when they beat Maritzburg Collegians in an all Pietermaritzburg derby. Coach Dean Younie is fully aware of the enormous challenge that his young side have on their hands but is prepared to face the much more favoured Collegians outfit that have won the trophy more times than any other club having lifted the silverware on 32 occasions. Can Collegians make it 33 wins in this the 119th playing for the 128 year old trophy.

The other final sees Varsity College up against the holders of the cup College Rovers, unquestionably, the club that has dominated the club scene since 2000 having held the trophy high on 13 occasions in the last 17 years.

Varsity College is a club that came into being with the amalgamation of DHS Old Boys and Glenwood Old Boys in 2006 Looking back at the history of DHS Old Boys a club founded in 1910 their name was engraved on the priceless piece of silverware for the first time in 1933 and had three unforgettable years between 1989 and 91. Glenwood Old Boys on the other hand first won the cup in 1931 five years after they were founded in 1926. The club last won a cup in a KZNRU competition as Glenwood Falcons in 2002 four years before the amalgamation.

With that its all to play for with all their second stringers following them to contest the Peter Taylor Knockout cup. The opening game between Varsity and Collegians kicks off at 7pm followed by the other semi final at 8.30pm

The Junior Murray Cup semi final will also be played on Friday evening with UKZN Durban hosting a vastly improved Westville Old Boys line up at while up North Piet Retief will host Ladysmith.