Seeking the Hat Trick

The Cell C Sharks Under 21s travel to Pretoria to take on the Vodacom Blue Bulls Under 21s on Friday afternoon looking to back up two excellent performances with a third in a top of the table clash.

Consecutive victories for the Cell C Sharks Under 21s against their Golden Lions (23-12) and Western Province (36-22) counterparts have provided a good start to the team’s campaign in the SA Rugby Under 21 Championship, but they will have their work cut out for them when they meet the undefeated Blue Bulls Under 21s at Loftus this weekend.

The Blue Bulls have scored an average of over 60 points in each of their three clashes to date with bonus point wins sending them to the top of the overall log with maximum points. The Cell C Sharks are in second place with 10 points ahead of Free State, Western Province, the Leopards and Golden Lions who have all won one match in the current competition.

The coaches have made a number of changes to last week’s side, including an entirely new front row with James Scott coming in for Sean Barnes at loosehead prop, Dylan Richardson shifting from flank to hooker in place of Fezo Mbatha (injured) and Cleopas Kundiona replacing Francois Klopper at tighthead.

The locking pair remains unchanged, however Vian Fourie takes over from Richardson at flank and Adam Mountfort starts at eighthman for Celimphilo Gumede.

Changes in the backline see Jaden Hendrikse in for Sanele Nohamba who is poised to make his Currie Cup debut for the Cell C Sharks. The World Rugby Under-20 Championship ‘Breakthrough Player of the Tournament’ nominee forms a new half-back partnership with Murray Koster – replacing Boeta Chamberlain – while Le Roux Malan comes off the bench to start in the number 12 jersey vacated by Koster.

The final change sees Caleb Dingaan named on the wing in place of Sicelo Tole who will play off the bench.

Cell C Sharks Under 21s

  1. James Scott
  2. Dylan Richardson
  3. Cleopas Kundiona
  4. JJ van der Mescht
  5. Jeandre Labushagne
  6. Vian Fourie
  7. Evan Roos
  8. Adam Mountfort
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Murray Koster
  11. Henk Cilliers
  12. Le Roux Malan
  13. Muller du Plessis
  14. Caleb Dingaan
  15. Thaakir Abrahams


  1. Cullen van der Merwe
  2. Francois Klopper
  3. Sean Barnes
  4. Marcell Barnard
  5. Lunga Ncube
  6. Xavier Swartbooi
  7. Rynhardt Jonker
  8. Sicelo Tole