Time to Shine

Although the Cell C Sharks XV side named to play Boland this weekend shows a number of changes to last week’s side, and indeed each week, there is a show of strength for the team looking to produce a good result.


Injuries and call-ups to the SA Under 20 side have not helped coach Sean Everitt’s plans to produce consistent performances in the SuperSport Challenge, given that the side changes fairly drastically each week.


Boland are coming off a 52-0 demolition of Border last week and will come into this match with a lot of confidence. They’ve won all three of their matches and with a near-perfect record of 14 out of a maximum 15 log points, are sitting pretty in second spot on the South Section log behind Western Province.


However, the inclusion of a number of fairly seasoned seniors will no doubt add to the firepower at Everitt’s disposal and the likes of Lwazi Mvovo, Khutha Mchunu, Wian Vosloo, Luke Stringer, Tyler Paul, Rhyno Smith, Marius Louw, Jeremy Ward, Kobus van Wyk and Leolin Zas will all bring experience gained at Cell C Sharks level in the Currie Cup and/or Super Rugby.


In changes from last week’s side, Khutha Mchunu, fresh from  his Vodacom Super Rugby  tour with the Cell C Sharks takes over from Roger Zondi at tighthead prop while Wian Vosloo shifts from flank to lock in place of Lunga Ncube with Tyler Paul taking his place on the side of the scrum. Luke Stringer in for Adam Mountfort completes the changes in the pack.


Amongst the backline changes, Rhyno Smith shifts to flyhalf for Murray Koster, with Leolin Zas moving from wing to fullback and Lwazi Mvovo playing on the left wings with Kobus van Wyk on the other.


Marius Louw will look to inject some midfield power and obdurate defence, slotting in at inside centre with captain Jeremy Ward featuring outside him.


The match is scheduled for a 3pm kick-off at JONSSON KINGS PARK KP2.


Cell C Sharks XV

  1. James Scott
  2. Cullen Collopy
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Wian Vosloo
  5. Andrew Evans
  6. Luke Stringer
  7. Tyler Paul
  8. Kwanda Dimaza
  9. Zee Makabela
  10. Rhyno Smith
  11. Lwazi Mvovo
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Jeremy Ward (C)
  14. Kobus van Wyk
  15. Leolin Zas


  1. Michael Meyer
  2. Francois Klopper
  3. Marcell Barnard
  4. Jeandre Labushagne
  5. Damian Stevens
  6. Inny Radebe
  7. Sicelo Tole