Time to Strike

The Cell C Sharks Under 21’s will host their Leopards’ counterparts at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Friday afternoon hoping for a return to success in their SA Rugby Under 21 Championship return leg clash.

The Leopards earned their only victory of the tournament in the opening round, their home leg match against the Cell C Sharks Under 21s in Potchefstroom a month ago. Just one point separated the two teams in the Leopards’ 30-29 victory – their only one of the campaign.

But since then, they have failed to register another win in the tournament and currently prop up the six-team log with seven points.

A hugely disappointing 44-40 loss to Free State last week saw the Cell C Sharks Under 21’s swap places on the log with the team from Bloemfontein, although they have an opportunity to strike right back this weekend in a tough round of fixtures.

Head coach Mike Vowles has made a number of changes to the pack for this match, with Cullen van der Merwe back at hooker in place of Fez Mbatha and Francois Klopper replacing Cleo Kundiana at tighthead.

There is also a new lock pairing of Dylan Weideman (for Marcell Barnard) and Emile van Heerden, in for Jeandre Labuschagne who moves to flank with Evan Roos moving to eighth man which sees captain Adam Mountford shifting to flank for Dylan Richardson.

There is just one change to the backline, Muller du Plessis replacing Thaakir Abrahams at fullback.

The match kicks off at 2pm.


Cell C Sharks Under 21s

  1. Sean Barnes
  2. Cullen van der Merwe
  3. Francois Klopper
  4. Dylan Weideman
  5. Emile van Heerden
  6. Adam Mountford (c)
  7. Jeandre Labuschagne
  8. Evan Roos
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Boeta Chamberlain
  11. Caleb Dingaan
  12. Murray Koster
  13. Henk Cilliers
  14. Sicelo Thole
  15. Muller du Plessis


  1. Donovan Grant
  2. Cole Haggard
  3. Tiaan de Jager
  4. Lunga Ncube
  5. Nsika Fisanti
  6. Xavier Swartbooi
  7. Le Roux Malan
  8. Asande Khunene