Touring Squad

Following the Cell C Sharks dramatic 12-9 victory over the DHL Stormers on Saturday, Head Coach Robert du Preez has selected a 27-man squad for this coming weekend’s Vodacom Super Rugby quarter-final clash with the Brumbies in Canberra.


The team departed for Australia on Sunday evening without Beast Mtawarira who will not make the trip after his withdrawal with a knee niggle from the Stormers match. Philip van der Walt and Jean-Luc du Preez have also not yet been passed fit to play, although Craig Burden has been included after picking up a hamstring tweak that ruled him out of Saturday’s match. Further good news is the inclusion of Curwin Bosch who also missed the Stormers game but is now fully fit.


“The Stormers are a fantastic side and the game could have gone either way,” said Robert du Preez following the team’s win that secured a top eight finish and a place in the play-offs in a drama-filled final weekend of Vodacom Super Rugby action.


“The game was in the balance all the way to the final hooter, but I thought the character the boys showed was tremendous and that vindicated everything this team is about on attack and defence.


“We were dominant the whole game and scored two tries. But rugby is a cruel game, a game of moments.”


Cell C Sharks Touring Squad



Juan Schoeman

Mzamo Majola

Kerron van Vuuren

Craig Burden

Cullen Collopy

Coenie Oosthuizen

Thomas du Toit

John-Hubert Meyer

Ruben van Heerden

Gideon Koegelenberg

Hyron Andrews

Daniel du Preez

Jacques Vermeulen

Tyler Paul

Luke Stringer



Louis Schreuder (c)

Cameron Wright

Robert du Preez

Curwin Bosch

Makazola Mapimpi

Andre Esterhuizen

Jeremy Ward

Lukhanyo Am

Kobus van Wyk

S’bu Nkosi

Aphelele Fassi

Rhyno Smith