It’s Kick-Off Time

Rainbow Cup SA gets under way this weekend with the Cell C Sharks heading south to Cape Town to take on the DHL Stormers on Saturday in the opening fixture of the double-round, four team tournament.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has an almost complete squad to pick from and has chosen a strong side for this clash, including starting former Stormers and current Springbok captain Siya Kolisi.

Ox Nche, Fez Mbatha and Thomas du Toit offer formidable opposition to the highly rated Stormers front row with the pack looking forward to the challenge and enormous battle up front.

Setting standards and measuring yourself against the best is what rugby is all about and it doesn’t get much better than this. These two old rivals have a wonderful history, particularly in recent years and Saturday’s match should produce the kind of fireworks and edge-of-your-seat action we’ve come to expect when these two teams clash.

Lukhanyo Am leads the team which includes an exciting backline with Grant Williams partnering up with Curwin Bosch at halfback, Jeremy Ward and Am the centres and Yaw Penxe, Sbu Nkosi and Aphelele Fassi making up the back three.

There is a welcome return to the Cell C Sharks for prop Wiehahn Herbst, on loan to the Durban side, named on the bench. Herbst played much of his rugby in Durban before widening his horizons in Europe and then at the Lions. A powerful scrummager, he adds important depth in the front row.

Saturday’s match at Cape Town Stadium kicks off at 2pm.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche

2. Fez Mbatha

3. Thomas du Toit

4. Ruben van Heerden

5.Reniel Hugo

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Henco Venter

8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

9. Grant Williams

10. Curwin Bosch

11. Yaw Penxe

12. Jeremy Ward

13. Lukhanyo Am (C)

14. Sbu Nkosi

15. Aphelele Fassi


16. Kerron van Vuuren

17. Ntuthuko Mchunu

18. Wiehahn Herbst

19. JJ van der Mescht

20. Phepsi Buthelezi

21. Sanele Nohamba

22. Manie Libbok

23. Werner Kok