Getting Stuck In

Both the Cell C Sharks and the DHL Stormers will run out onto Jonsson Kings Park looking for a big performance in this Saturday’s Rainbow Cup SA match when the two teams meet in the return leg of the competition.

The Stormers are smarting after losing to the Cell C Sharks in round one, while there is a strong desire for the Durban side to get back to winning ways after last weekend’s disappointment.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has made three personnel changes and one positional switch to last week’s team with JJ van der Mescht earning a start and hard-working Ruben van Heerden playing off the bench.

After rupturing a patella tendon against the Vodacom Bulls, Sikhumbuzo Notshe has unfortunately been ruled out of action for a few months, which has necessitated a re-jig of the loose-forward trio. Henco Venter moves to eighthman with Thembelani Bholi taking his place on the side of the scrum.

In the final change, Marius Louw returns to the side and takes over from Jeremy Ward at centre.

“The guys are proud, they have a lot of fight in them,” Everitt admits ahead of the coastal derby clash.

“Despite last week’s loss, there is still a lot of rugby to be played, we have three games and it starts with our come-back this Saturday and we’re certainly not out of the race. We’re still in a really good position, the Bulls are only three points ahead of us, we still have them at home and we haven’t lost at Jonsson Kings Park for a long period of time. We want to bounce back and we do want to win this competition.”

The Cell C Sharks home record is something special and it’s a proud record they will look to maintain this weekend and for the remainder of the tournament.

“This is our home, where we live and the town that supports us,” explains vice-captain Henco Venter. “We’re definitely not going to just lie down and let the Stormers come here and take that away from us.”

“We’re expecting a huge challenge but we’re 100% up for it. We’re excited to take on their forward pack because we don’t want them to come here and not give anything but their best. We want to beat the best teams.”

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche

2. Fez Mbatha

3. Thomas du Toit

4. JJ van der Mescht

5. Reniel Hugo

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Thembelani Bholi

8. Henco Venter

9. Jaden Hendrikse

10. Curwin Bosch

11. Yaw Penxe

12. Marius Louw

13. Lukhanyo Am (C)

14. Sbu Nkosi

15. Aphelele Fassi


16. Kerron van Vuuren

17. Ntuthuko Mchunu

18. Wiehahn Herbst

19. Ruben van Heerden

20. Phepsi Buthelezi

21. Sanele Nohamba

22. Manie Libbok

23. Werner Kok