Keeping the Momentum Going

The Cell C Sharks Under 20s are back in action in round two with a home game at Jonsson Kings Park on Saturday when they host the Blue Bulls in the SA Rugby Under 20 Championship

Head coach Mike Vowles will be looking for his team to continue the great start they had against Eastern Province last weekend.

“It was a pleasing way to begin the competition,” he said of his team’s round one 47-23, seven try to two bonus point win.

“Last week was a really good outing for us, we weren’t too sure how good we were going into that game with the limited prep and all the disruptions we’ve had with Covid and the civil unrest, so we’ll take a lot of confidence out of the game.

“For the most part, when we stuck to the plan, we got good reward so we we’re very pleased to come away with a bonus point win and having scored some really good tries.”

Learning lessons from each match is the only way a team will progress and build, be that from a loss or a win, and Vowles admitted that there was enough to take out of last week’s match to develop even further.

“We learned a lot and it’s given us a good gauge of the areas we need to improve on and that’s been the focus this week. We’re really excited about the opportunity to play against the Bulls, not only will we be tested from a rugby point of view, but they also offer us a nice physical challenge and we’re expecting them to come at us. It’s a good opportunity for us to measure ourselves and see exactly where we are.

“The message to the team going into this game is that when we stick to the plan, things work. We’ll need to stick to the process and meet fire with fire.”

Saturday’s match kicks off at 12pm.

Cell C Sharks Under 20’s

1. Braam Reyneke

2. Jacques Goosen

3. Munashe Mhere

4. Corne Rahl

5. Ockie Barnard (c)

6. Damon Royle

7. Enos Ndiao

8. Siya Ningiza

9. Bradley Davids

10. Brandon Wilkie

11. Siviwe Zondani

12. Mambo Mkhize

13. Ethan Fisher

14. Curwin Gertse

15. Lloyd Koster


16. Jordan Mcloughlin

17. Charles Gamhiwa

18. Blaine Golden

19. Tiaan Jonker

20. Jaques Marais

21. Daimon O’Connell

22. Simelela Nkomo

23. Kian Meadon

24. William Proudfoot

25. Katlego Thinyane