Kolisi Captains The Sharks

Fireworks are expected at Hollywoodbets Kings Park this Friday evening when the Cell C Sharks entertain the Scarlets in a must-watch Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash in Durban.

International rugby returns to South Africa following only local derbies that came after the local teams toured Ireland, Scotland, Wales and Italy in the early rounds and the Welsh outfit will be faced with weather challenges alongside a confident Cell C Sharks team that has started building quality momentum in the competition of late.

Although the team closely resembles that which earned the bonus point victory over Benetton in the most recent URC clash, the absence of regular captain Lukhanyo Am opens the door for a new leader.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has made just three changes to his team, with Jeremy Ward coming in for Lukhanyo Am at outside centre and although losing the captain is a big blow, it is offset by the leadership role handed to Springbok captain Siya Kolisi.

“It’s a huge boost having Siya as captain, although it doesn’t really change much because he’s been playing a leadership role since he arrived at The Sharks,” explained fellow Springbok Sbu Nkosi.

“He’s been very positive and very involved and I don’t think it will be a major shift for us because he’s been bringing that same energy all the time. The only thing that changes now is that he has the authority that comes with the title of captain.”

The other two changes come in the pack where Reniel Hugo replaces Ruben van Heerden in the second row and eighthmen Sikhumbuzo Notshe and Phepsi Buthelezi switch positions this week.

Friday night’s match kicks off at 7.10pm.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche

2. Bongi Mbonambi

3. Thomas du Toit (v/c)

4. Gerbrandt Grobler

5. Reniel Hugo

6. Siya Kolisi (c)

7. Henco Venter

8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

9. Jaden Hendrikse

10. Curwin Bosch

11. Makazole Mapimpi

12. Marius Louw

13. Jeremy Ward

14. Sbu Nkosi

15. Aphelele Fassi


16. Kerron van Vuuren

17. Ntuthuko Mchunu

18. Khutha Mchunu

19. Le Roux Roets

20. Phepsi Buthelezi

21. Grant Williams

22. Tito Bonilla

23. Werner Kok