A Massive Challenge

The Cell C Sharks Under 20s have a third successive big game in the SA Rugby under 20 Championship this Friday, when they host the Sigma Lions on KP2 at Hollywoodbets Kings Park.

Playing DHL Western Province, the Vodacom Blue Bulls and now the Lions is a big ask for any team, but following close contests against the big sides, the Cell C Sharks Under 20s are approaching this match against the log leaders with great motivation.

“Last week was another disappointing result for us, we went to Loftus with a lot of confidence and having prepared well,” explains head coach Mike Vowles, “and although the result didn’t go our way, the guys played really well and we were very proud of their performance. There were times when we had to fight hard to get back into the game, and we did, and the character and attitude from the guys was outstanding.

“To lose in the manner we did was really hard for us. We had an opportunity in the last minute to score but we were held up over the line again for the second time in two games. So it could have gone our way in the end.

“We certainly played with a lot more confidence and we stuck to the plan which gave us direction in the game so we’re really chuffed with the performance.”

He admits that this week offers his side another tough game against worthy log leaders, but the challenge is one that excites him and his charges.

“The Lions are top of the table for a reason, they’re a good side, but we have prepared well and know what to expect. Coming down to Durban to play in this heat and humidity will be tough for them, but we will need to be on top of our game. We are looking forward to the challenge and this is almost a semi-final for us.

“We’re desperate and will throw everything we can at them, staying alive in this competition means this becomes a massive game but I’m confident we will put in a strong performance.”

Cell C Sharks Under 20s
1. Braam Reyneke
2. Jordan McLoughlin
3. Nash Mhere
4. Andrew Beyrooti
5. Corne Rahl (c)
6. Damon Royle
7. Enos Ndiao
8. Nick Hatton
9. Bradley Davids
10. Jean Smith
11. Banie Britz
12. Brandon Wilkie
13. Lloyd Koster
14. Curwin Gertse
15. Hakeem Kunene

16. Jacques Marais
17. Phatu Ganyane
18. Dian Heunis
19. Coetzee Le Roux
20. Renzo du Plessis
21. Josh Miller
22. Ethan Hooker
23. Taurin Craze