Seeking a Straight Fifth

The Cell C Sharks host Edinburgh at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Saturday evening in a Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash that has an important bearing on the fight for log positions.

A win over the fifth-placed Edinburgh would see the Cell C Sharks leap-frog the Scottish outfit and take them to within one victory of the top four – all of whom have played an extra game.

The Cell C Sharks will be looking to take the momentum of the four bonus point victories on the trot into this match against a side with a similar record to themselves. Having played 13 games to the Durban side’s 12, both sides have seven wins and a draw, with Edinburgh having lost one extra game. Bonus points are all that separate the two teams currently fifth and sixth on the log.

A fifth straight victory, and in doing so maintaining an outstanding home record at Hollywoodbets Kings Park, would do the team’s aspirations and ambitions absolutely no harm whatsoever.

As expected after a run of such good form, Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has stuck with the same team as last week aside from two changes.

Springbok Ox Nche is welcomed back after missing last week’s game with his capable replacement Ntuthuko Mchunu reverting to the bench, while the second change at fullback is injury-enforced, Anthony Volmink coming in for Aphelele Fassi who left the field against Zebre last week with an ankle injury.

Everitt has addressed the European rugby focus on set-piece and forward domination with a five-two split on the bench, bringing in Carling Currie Cup captain James Venter to bolster the stocks.

Saturday evening’s match kicks off at 5.05pm.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche

2. Bongi Mbonambi

3. Thomas du Toit (v/c)

4. Gerbrandt Grobler

5. Reniel Hugo

6. Siya Kolisi (c)

7. Henco Venter

8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

9. Grant Williams

10. Curwin Bosch

11. Makazole Mapimpi

12. Marius Louw

13. Ben Tapuia

14. Werner Kok

15. Anthony Volmink


16. Kerron van Vuuren

17. Ntuthuko Mchunu

18. Khuta Mchunu

19. Le Roux Roets

20. Phepsi Buthelezi

21. James Venter

22. Jaden Hendrikse

23. Boeta Chamberlain