Keeping Continuity

The Cell C Sharks team named to take on the Vodacom Bulls in Saturday’s Vodacom United Rugby Championship quarter-final clash shows just one change from the previous clash two weeks ago.

A bye week following the pools stages of the URC has given the teams time to prepare for the knockout rounds that take place this weekend, with the Vodacom Bulls hosting the Cell C Sharks at Loftus Versveld in Pretoria in the early afternoon derby match.

The Vodacom Bulls only just pipped the Cell C Sharks – by a solitary log point – to earn home ground advantage for the quarter-finals as late as the final round after the Durban side had led the South African charge and head coach Sean Everitt has largely stuck with the same starting XV as that named to play Ulster in round 18.

In the only change, Le Roux Roets starts in Ruben van Heerden’s place in the second row with the remainder of the side retained for this big game.

It has been a good week of training and the Cell C Sharks are rearing to go.

Saturday’s match kicks off at 1.45pm.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche

2. Bongi Mbonambi

3. Thomas du Toit (c)

4. Le Roux Roets

5. Reniel Hugo

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Henco Venter

8. Phepsi Buthelezi

9. Jaden Hendrikse

10. Curwin Bosch

11. Makazole Mapimpi

12. Marius Louw

13. Lukhanyo Am

14. Werner Kok

15. Aphelele Fassi


16. Kerron van Vurren

17. Ntuthuko Mchunu

18. Khutha Mchunu

19. Ruben van Heerden

20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

21. Grant Williams

22. Boeta Chamberlain

23. Ben Tapuai