A Debut for Eben Etzebeth

Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth will make his run-on debut for the Cell C Sharks on Saturday when they host Glasgow Warriors in their Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash at Hollywoodbets Kings Park.

Etzebeth has been a key and very popular signing for the Cell C Sharks and he will play alongside a number of Springboks who are back in URC action following the conclusion of the Castle Lager Rugby Championship.

Scrumhalf Jaden Hendrikse, fresh off his exploits with the Springboks, has returned to the Cell C Sharks team as well and he can’t wait to get stuck in.

“I’m super excited to get onto the park this weekend, for me it’s about enjoying every moment,” he explains.

“The focus for us has been on our defence, we need to get our spacing and alignment right and then to make our tackles. And when we have possession in their 22, to be absolutely accurate with the ball.

Returning Springboks will bring immense firepower, not least of all Eben Etzebeth, who will be keen to deliver a strong showing in his first outing for his new team.

“We’d like to have a big influence, but within the Cell C Sharks’ DNA and fit in as smoothly as possible. A guy like Eben is super-excited to be playing.”

Glasgow come to Durban fresh off a victory over the Vodacom Bulls and will come to Durban full of confidence.

“What we saw last weekend was Glasgow matching the Bulls physically, they disrupted the Bulls’ lineouts and attacked their breakdown. But the focus of this game is more on ourselves and pitching up on Saturday and playing the Cell C Sharks way.

In changes to last week’s game, Eben Etzebeth will get his first start and there will also be another debutant amongst the loose-trio in Vincent Tshituka, with Phepsi Buthelezi returning at eighthman in the three changes amongst the forwards.

Jaden Hendrikse takes over from an injured Grant Williams at scrumhalf, Anthony Volmink comes in for Thaakir Abrahams on the wing and Marnus Potgieter replaces Rohan Janse Van Rensburg at outside centre to complete the changes to the starting XV. Springboks Bongi Mbonambi, Ox Nche, Siya Kolisi, and Makazole Mapimpi are expected to make a collective impression off the bench.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ntuthuko Mchunu

2. Kerron van Vuuren

3. Thomas du Toit (c)

4. Eben Etzebeth

5. Hyron Andrews

6. Dylan Richardson

7. Vincent Tshituka

8. Phepsi Buthelezi

9. Jaden Hendrikse

10. Boeta Chamberlain

11. Anthony Volmink

12. Ben Tapuai

13. Marnus Potgieter

14. Werner Kok

15. Aphelele Fassi


16. Bongi Mbonambi

17. Ox Nche

18. Carlu Sadie

19. Reniel Hugo

20. Siya Kolisi

21. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

22. Cameron Wright

23. Makazole Mapimpi