Striking Back

The Cell C Sharks host the Airlink Pumas at Hollywoodbets Kings Park for a Good Friday Currie Cup fixture looking to bounce back to winning ways this weekend.

The defending Currie Cup champions come to Durban off the back of a successful season so far, continuing their good form of last year when they won the domestic title for the first time. They have won all four of their fixtures to date and come to Durban off the back of an impressive 61-21 victory over the Toyota Free State Cheetahs last weekend.

The Cell C Sharks, currently in fourth position on the eight team table, will be looking for a strong showing on Friday evening. They were impressive in their first half effort against the Fidelity ADT Lions last weekend and the previous round put one over their coastal rivals, DHL Western Province.

Head coach of the Cell C Sharks Currie Cup side, Joey Mongalo, has made a number of changes to his team this week, starting with Dian Bleuler replacing Khwezi Mona in the front row and then lock Ockie Barnard coming in for Corne Rahl who shifts to the flank in place of Jeandre Labuschagne in the final change to the pack.

Amongst the backs, Tiaan Fourie makes a start after playing off the bench, replacing Bradley Davids at scrumhalf while Anothony Volmink comes in on the wing with Marnus Potgieter playing at outside centre and Murray Koster taking over from the injured Francois Venter at inside centre.

Nevaldo Fleurs is in for Yaw Penxe at fullback is the final change to the starting XV.

Reniel Hugo leads the team for this clash which takes place at Hollywoodbets Kings Park at 7.05pm on Friday evening.

Cell C Sharks
1. Dian Bleuler
2. Fez Mbatha
3. Khutha Mchunu
4. Ockie Barnard
5. Reniel Hugo (c)
6. Thembelani Bholi
7. Corne Rahl
8. James Venter
9. Tiaan Fourie
10. Fred Zeilinga
11. Anthony Volmink
12. Murray Koster
13. Marnus Potgieter
14. Phikolomzi Sobahle
15. Nevaldo Fleurs

16. Dameon Venter
17. Khwezi Mona
18. Wiehahn Herbst
19. Marco de Witt
20. Tinotenda Mavesere
21. Zee Mkhabela
22. Lionel Cronje
23. Josh Jonas