Cell C Sharks Touring Squad

The Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby Neil Powell has named a 28-man touring squad, who will travel tonight to London for their Heineken Champions Cup return leg pool match against Harlequins at The Stoop on Saturday.

The two teams met in early December at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in the first round and the Cell C Sharks’ first taste of Heineken Cup rugby, with the Durban side running out 39-31 victors.

The Cell C Sharks come into this game off the back of a rewarding 32-3 victory over Bordeaux, their third in the tournament which has elevated them to  second spot in Pool A, while Harlequins are seventh with a solitary victory to date, defeating Racing 92 14-10 in round two, but losing to the same French side 30-29 over the last weekend.

Powell has had to leave Bongi Mbonambi and Boeta Chamberlain behind, the pair having left the field against Bordeaux after taking knocks, but the rest of the side that featured so dominantly remains. Curwin Bosch, a late withdrawal from that game, has been passed fit and is featured among the tourists.

Also included in the travel group are Thaakir Abrahams, Grant Williams, Fez Mbatha, Hanru Jacobs and Reniel  Hugo.

“There’s still a long way to go in this competition, but our current focus is on Harlequins in London, where we know the conditions will be different to what we played in against Bordeaux,” Powell explained.

“We want to be successful in this tournament and see how far we can go and give ourselves the best opportunity to try and get into the final. But our primary focus is on this Harlequins game, hopefully it’s a good outing for us and that we can get some more points to secure a home knock-out game at Hollywoodbets Kings Park.”

Cell C Sharks Tour Squad

Aphelele Fassi
Ben Tapuai
Cameron Wright
Curwin Bosch
Grant Williams
Jaden Hendrikse
Lionel Cronje
Lukhanyo Am
Makazole Mapimpi
Marnus Potgieter
Rohan Janse van Rensburg
Thaakir Abrahams

Carlu Sadie
Dan Jooste
Eben Etzebeth
Fez Mbatha
Gerbrandt Grobler
Hanru Jacobs
Hyron Andrews
Kerron van Vuuren
Ntuthuko Mchunu
Ox Nche
Phepsi Buthelezi
Reniel Hugo
Sikhumbuzo Notshe
Siya Kolisi
Thomas du Toit
Vincent Tshituka