Sbu Nkosi is one of a handful of changes to the Cell C Sharks team that has been named for Saturday’s home Vodacom Super Rugby clash with the Jaguares.

The team have returned home to Jonsson Kings Park full of confidence and optimism but know that everything in the past, especially the good parts, is history and counts for nothing when the teams meet on Saturday afternoon.

Last week, head coach Sean Everitt rested flankers James Venter and Tyler Paul and both have been restored to the starting line-up, as has wing Sbu Nkosi. 

Not that his stand-in, Madosh Tambwe has done anything wrong. Quite the contrary. He has been a revelation since joining the Cell C Sharks from the Lions last year and has taken his opportunities with both hands since standing in for Nkosi following an injury on tour that forced him home for recovery.

But the Springbok wing, Nkosi is back to full fitness and while Tambwe has been shifted to the bench, it has no bearing on his abilities or performances, but rather the fact that we have an exciting group of talented players, who will be called upon to deliver for the team at different stages of the competition.

This team resembles the side that played the season-opener against the Vodacom Bulls almost completely, the only change coming on the bench where Tambwe is named this week and Boeta Chamberlain was included in week one.

With the Stormers having their bye this weekend, this match takes on an interesting hue. The outcome will have a strong bearing on how the South African Conference will look on Saturday with the Cell C Sharks gaining the opportunity to go top should they defeat the Jaguares.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Thomas du Toit
4. Ruben van Heerden
5. Hyron Andrews
6. James Venter
7. Tyler Paul
8. Sikumbuzo Notshe
9. Louis Schreuder
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Makazole Mapimpi
12. Andre Esterhuizen
13. Lukhanyo Am (c)
14. Sbu Nkosi
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Craig Burden
17. Juan Schoeman
18. John-Hubert Meyer
19. Le Roux Roets
20. Henco Venter
21. Sanele Nohamba
22. Jeremy Ward
23. Madosh Tambwe